CPWC15 – DIA/DWC Organization and Claim Audits



Workers’ Compensation Origins and Overview

CPWC (Claims Practitioner in Workers’ Compensation) is a 24 unit certification program developed to meet the needs of emerging claims practitioners. This program offers comprehensive training in foundation principles required to become a certified California WC Claims Adjuster and provides the required 120 classroom hours. Presented at a practical desk level, this curriculum includes learning tools such as case studies and soft skills along with technical information.  Components of the CPWC will also help fulfill certification requirements for California WC Medical Review or Medical Only adjusters.

Module 15 – DIA/DVC Organization

In this 15th module, we will look at the organizational structure of the Division of Industrial Relations and Division of Worker’s Compensation. In this module, you will learn about the various divisions of the division of industrial Relations with emphasis on the Division of Worker’s Compensation and the various units comprising the DWC.  Practically, we will be looking at the role of the Information and Assistance Officers, the Disability Evaluation Unit, the Medical Unit, and Audit unit and how these various units oversee and interact with the daily claims process.

Lecture Topics Covered

  1. DIA
  2. DWC
  3. Audits
  4. ***
  5. ***

Who should attend.

  • Indemnity Workers’ Compensation Claims Adjusters
  • Medical Bill Review Adjustors
  • Medical Only Claims Adjustors
  • TPA / Self Insured Claims Personnel
  • Agent/Broker Workers’ Compensation Claims Staff